Organization Design Events | ON THE MARK Organization Design Events | ON THE MARK
Organization Design Consulting

EVENTS

Conferences, briefings, workshops, webinars and announcements
agile webinar

OTM Webinar: Designing flexibility and speed into your operating model; You don’t have to be Agile to be agile.

 

DESCRIPTION:
Agile approach is not the only way to design flexibility and speed into your operating model, particularly given the challenges and pitfalls associated with trying to implement Agile. Agile started as a way of working in the software development industry based on rapid development cycles, its good enough, and fix it in the next cycle mentality.

Now Agile is the newest buzz word, end-all, be-all management solutions. Agile zealots profess an all-in approach to it. We have seen this 10’s of times before… recall the onset of Quality in the 80’s, or maybe the mystery of finding the “core competence” of a business in the 90’s, or perhaps Lean in the 2000’s… Agile was never intended to be the basis of an entire operating model. But like the management interventions of Quality, Six-Sigma, and Lean, embedding agile into the work environment requires pragmatic systemic changes as it has significant impacts on management roles, power and decision making, governance and entire structures.

Putting agile into traditional waterfall work environments is a collision waiting to happen fraught with challenges, risks, and trade-offs. And, the motivation to work in an agile environment is compounded by the fact that the younger workforce is enamored with it because it brings less bureaucracy, greater empowerment and focuses on getting things done – all honorable reasons. But there is more than one “road to Rome” as the saying goes – or, you can design flexibility and speed into your operating model without being Agile.

PRESENTED BY: Mark LaScola, Managing Principal and Peter Turgoose, OTM Senior Consultant

DATE & TIME: Date & Time : Thursday, 30th May at 10 AM PST/PHX/MST, 11 AM MDT, 1 EDT, 5 PM GMT, & 9 PM Dubai time
Friday, 31st May at 3 AM Melbourne time

LENGTH: 90 minutes

REGISTRATION LINK: Click Here

Watch this space for more information on how you can sign up!

OTM Articles on Agile:

OTM Webinar: Collective Genius: Leveraging The Power Of Group Work For Better Decision Making, Problem Solving, and Sustained Action

 

PRESENTED BY: Mark LaScola & Dennis Skinner, Master Facilitators… with over 65 years of combined experience in solving real business problems and achieving big results.

DATE & TIME: Wednesday, July 24th at 8 AM PST/PHX/MST, 9 AM MDT, 11 AM EDT, 3 PM GMT, & 7 PM Dubai time
Thursday, July 25th at 1 AM Melbourne time

DESCRIPTION:
One of the most powerful options for executives is hiding in plain sight — the power of group collaboration to solve big, hairy challenges. Mountains of business, neuro- and social-science evidence supports the fact that by tapping into the wisdom of diverse groups, leaders unlock creative ideas and robust solutions that even the smartest people in the group and/or expert consultancies could not have come up with alone. And, more importantly, by involving your people in solving your business’s most complex problems together, levels of commitment, sustainability and implementation ROI are achieved beyond comparison, driving change that truly sticks. In this webinar, we will share practical, proven tools, methods and wisdoms leaders can use to solve big problems, make better decisions, design more innovative solutions, and drive powerful, sustained business improvements through collaborative group work.

TO REGISTER CLICK HERE: Click Here

Industry Presentation: Organization Design and Executive Leadership

Date & Time: June 11, 2019 at 3 PM MDT & July 9, 2019 at 5 PM MDT
Location: East Library 5550 N Union Blvd. Colorado Springs, CO 80918
Event Information: An operating model enables an organization to compete effectively. It expresses an organization’s competitive strategy. It supports the development and delivery of required strategic capability. It shapes behavior and decision-making processes. It is a strategic, priority issue that is increasingly landing on the desk of the CEO.

A key role of leadership is to facilitate the development, execution, and continued calibration of an operating model. The development process is called organization design. Yet, many organizations do not have substantive design skill. Common design processes often fail to change the basic character of operations and culture. Trendy management topics that attract leadership attention frequently distract from the basics of a “fit-for-purpose” operating model. These, and topics like them, will be explored in an interactive session with members of Colorado Springs SHRM.

Attendees will leave this session having gained:

  • A deeper appreciation for what organization design is and is not
  • Substantive considerations of the role that HR can play
  • An understanding of the key differences and outcomes differentiating expert-led design from process-led design
  • A practical understanding of the most significant mistakes made today when changing an operating model
Register Here!

Please note that registration opens on May 15th, 2019

otm executive briefings

Executive Briefing: When to Know it’s Time to Modernize Your Operating Model

An intimate executive roundtable aimed at C-Level Executives and Senior Leaders led by Mark LaScola, Managing Principal of ON THE MARK.

PRESENTATION DESCRIPTION: 
A well-designed operating model is fundamental to business performance and achieving success. An operating model that is “fit for purpose” is able to respond to business complexities, achieve your business strategy and improve performance while driving out significant amounts of waste or “business complication”. An unfit, misaligned operating model can eat up 10%-25% of operating costs complicating your day-to-day business activities, burdening performance, negatively impacting the customer experience, driving in waste and frustrating the employee experience.

As a starting point, leaders must first be willing to critically examine whether an operating model is fit for purpose. While this review requires real work and is not easy, it can be done with an investment of three days of time via a collaborative effort. A business can answer that all important question: Is our operating model fit for purpose?

Together we will discuss those practical issues facing your business today including:

  1. Practical examples of modern operating models addressing digitalization, agile, customer centricity, local to global, strategy changes, platforms and ecosystems, etc.
  2. Common pitfalls and mistakes made on the road to modernization.
  3. Integrating future of work challenges into an operating model.
  4. When to know the time is right to modernize an operating model.
  5. What are the best ways to go about modernizing an operating model.

Option 1: Denver, Colorado
Date: Tuesday, June 11th, 2019
Time: 8 AM – 10 AM MDT with Breakfast
Location: TBD

Option 2: Seattle, Washington
Date: Monday, June 10th, 2019
Time: 11 AM – 1 PM PDT with Lunch
Location: Expedia HQ, Bellevue
Limited Space: 15 seats

Organization Design Masterclasses

OTM in partnership with EODF

Module 3: Making Design Real – London, 5 June

Module 4: Living the New – London, 6 June

For more information and to register, click here

Global Network for SmarT Organization Design 2019 Conference

 

Get Connected

Get connected with us, start a conversation, we are waiting for you!

NORTH AMERICA HQ
1334 E Chandler Blvd
Suite 5
Phoenix, AZ 85048
USA
+1 (602) 257 8700

EUROPE HQ
New Broad Street House
New Broad Street
EC2M 1NH
London, UK
+44 (0) 203 051 7140






If you wish to receive marketing emails and event updates from us, tick this box

Complete This Equation To Prove You're Human